Bipolar and Driving

I have no idea if this is common due to the impulsive nature of people with bipolar or if this is just teenage boy stuff, but omg, I cannot be in the car when my son is driving.  And yes, I have lectured him over and over, but nothing changes.  It is truly a harrowing experience!

He drives reckless:

  • way too fast (not just like 5 mph over)
  • tailgates
  • rides the right side of the road
  • listens to music so loud he would never hear an emergency vehicle
  • brakes late (and hard because of it)
  • and the worst is that he TEXTS!

All of this worries me every single time he takes off for the road, which is much too often (hours every day).  He says that driving calms him.  He says that he is more than capable of texting while driving (he is not!).

And yet he is a rule stickler in other ways… always uses turn signals, always stops when signs say to, won’t cut through parking lots, and a couple others.  I just don’t get it.

He knows I can’t take his car away.  And he tells me that he is surprised he has not been in an accident or gotten a ticket!  W T F!  I am seriously terrified for him!

Any tips or info from bipolar people out there?  They sure would be appreciated!

4 thoughts on “Bipolar and Driving

Add yours

  1. It might be related to bipolar. My sister was the same way and she has severe bipolar type 1. I have bipolar type 2, so I don’t get the mania as much, so maybe that is why I am a calmer driver, although I don’t drive much because of all my health issues.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t been clinically diagnosed with bipolar but my therapist said I show signs for bipolar ii which is more mild. I occasionally drive to fast and text and blast music, but I also adhere to road signs and stuff. Perhaps they go hand in hand? Or it could just be how he escapes life for a bit? I think just reminding him to be careful and pay attention is all you can do short of taking the keys to the car. Hugs and good vibes

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started