Eyes Wide Open

Yesterday is another day that I would like to dismiss as ever existing.

My son had not taken his meds for two consecutive days.  The half life of Zyprexa is 24 to 51 hours (odd range).  I don’t know if that contributed to the following events, but I am sure it didn’t help.  Everything always goes back to the girlfriend though.  She broke up with him yesterday because she said he is a bad long-distance boyfriend.  That is utter crap!  He showers her with gifts bought with money has really doesn’t have.  They are in constant contact.  And I mean 24/7 constant contact.  They even have the phone line open when they are asleep!  They watch movies together online, play video games, talk, snapchat…all f’n day!  (It is ridiculous by the way!)  Anyway, I already wrote about how he wants to move there.  Well, I told him that I cannot move, but I would help him if he wanted to. Well, she told him that he could not move up there by himself because he is just a child and cannot take care of himself.  He told her he could learn (and he should).  She said he couldn’t.  (She is being very mean).  Anyway, long story short, supposedly she broke up with him.  Then, he blamed me because I won’t pack up tomorrow and move my life far away for him so I ruined everything.  He became scarily suicidal.  I was on the phone with the Suicide Hotline for 90 minutes.  They were truly a blessing (for a change).  See, he was not home all day.  He was just out driving around.  He started texting me some dangerous and horrible stuff and they actually helped me with some replies, gave me some sound advice in some instances, and basically listened to me spill my guts.

During that time I stupidly decided that my ex needed to step in (or, step up) and help (Why did I think this?  I will chalk it up to me not thinking very clearly in my panicked state.)  We arranged to meet last night.  I was planning to tell him that his son needed him because he was going through a lot.  And if he wanted to reclaim a relationship with his son that this would be the perfect time to reach out.  Nope…as usual, leopards do NOT change their spots.  He steered the conversation to him every single time.  He was also very preoccupied with his plans he had for after our meeting.  I learned all about how his rent is just too expensive but he bought another new motorcycle and a four-wheeler.  When I tried to explain some of the day’s events with my son, he just said, “Take away his keys.”  So, as usual, he is useless.  I gave up and didn’t even bother asking what I originally intended.  We parted ways after I paid the bill, of course.

Never again.  Eyes are wide open.  The conversation I had with him is just further confirmation that I have been making all of the right decisions for me and my son.

I have the GPS tracker turned on in my son’s car now and I will be alerted every time it leaves and arrives at the house.  Also, I have a case reference number with Onstar for their immediate intervention if ever he is driving and suicidal again.  I have the Suicide Hotline number programmed into my phone.  Now, I just need to get my son’s eyes wide open such that he can see his girlfriend for who she really is.  How?  I don’t know yet.  It seems like an impossible task because he clearly knows that she is wrong (we have talked about it), but he also thinks that there is no one else in this world for him.  Please pray for a better day for us!

4 thoughts on “Eyes Wide Open

Add yours

  1. I don’t pray for better days for anyone, especially myself… I pray that God gives us the strength and knowledge to do what’s right. Definitely not as sexy, but better in the long run. Keep the faith.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, I am so sorry he is going through this break up. I can relate to your son though, so I am glad you made this post – not that I find post like this entertaining but they make it easier for me to open up with my own issues I have had in the past. I have many when it comes to dating & two pop into my mind as of now. My very first relationship ended with me wanting to take my own life (overdosing on pills) my family never found out about it and I don’t tell people but yeah, I was in his state of mind where I felt like my world was falling apart because someone I loved left me. The most recent incident with my ex , whom broke up with me in 2017 and that took a HUGE TOLL on me, a story for later — but yeah I can definitely relate to his pain and how he sees this situation. It’s hard, very hard, especially since he is younger. I hope he heals, ❤

    Shay-lon

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, they are back together 😦 Feel free to browse my blog about my history of emotional abuse with my soon-to-be-ex and the physical abuse suffered at the hands of a high school boyfriend. Happy to be a sounding board anytime. I have lots of topics I like to write about. Usually I write about what is nagging at me that day lol. Take care!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started